New England, By The Book

New England, By The Book: Freeport Book Shoppe, Freeport ME

8dc8a252-5d5b-40ed-a6d3-ca489f13544f

Several years after I moved from Maine to Massachusetts I received a phone call from my mother where she was excited to share something with me that she’d found that day. It was a used book shop not far from where she lived, and she could not recall my ever mentioning having been there before to her.

She was quite correct. I quickly corrected this oversight and visit the store any and every chance I get to when I visit Maine.

Owner David Young is a self-taught antiquarian dealer in books, having spent years as a security guard and in the army reserve. Entering the shop (once you peruse the bargains set outside the door on the front porch), you typically find David sitting behind the low glass display case counter standing watch over his more valuable inventory. He offers a friendly hello and a ‘knowing’ smile, for he is aware (as you are about to find out), that ‘magic’ awaits you inside his store.

The room shown in the above photograph sits a few steps below the entrance, just beyond the signed editions and bargain closet where you will find just about anything culled from each and every section of the store’s inventory to make room for other items. The fiction (divided into mysteries, children’s, general fiction, and a very healthy section of classics) lines the perimeter of the floor space, with non-fiction (everything from arctic exploration to zebra appreciation) shelved on the spaces in between. Neatly stacked against the shelves are cartons of those items more recently obtained and are always worth digging into the boxes all the way to the bottom (where I have personally unearthed many books that I’ve purchased).

The store owner has been known to say to me, as I approached him with my selections, “Guess it was worth the drive.”, whereas I one day mentioned living out of state and always trying to put his store into my itinerary when I visited Maine. He’s quite knowledgeable about his inventory, and occasionally offers up his own experience with reading what I’ve selected to purchase for my own enjoyment. His friendly, no-pressure interaction with his customers (at least with me) always makes the conversation enjoyable, and he has even offered to try to find a book I might be looking for that he doesn’t happen to have and simply ‘set it aside’ for when I ‘come up again’.

I have yet to leave this store empty-handed, which to me always makes a stop there worthwhile. While I owe my successful shopping trips to the store in part to the two hour distance I live from the store and the fact that I (sadly) cannot visit it more often than I do, (therefore he always has plenty new for me to look at); it is also due in large part to the tremendous variety of books he carries, and the incredibly affordable pricing. While the shop does carry rare and antiquarian selections ranging in the hundreds of dollars in price; the average book will set you back only four to eight dollars apiece.

While I don’t necessarily subscribe to the theory that moms are always right – in this instance, Mom didn’t lead me astray.

Located at 176 U.S. Route 1 (locals refer to it as ‘Old Route 1’) in Freeport, ME, The Freeport Book Shoppe is a reader’s paradise just waiting for you to pay a call. Hours are (at present) listed as:

Open year-round: Hours tend to be a little more flexible in the winter months.

Summer Hours: Monday through Saturday 9:30 AM – 5:30 PM
Sundays: By chance, usually 9:30 AM – 4:00 PM

Winter Hours: Monday through Saturday 9:30 AM – 5:00 PM
Sundays: By chance, usually 10:00 AM- 4:00 PM

 

Happy Reading!

Standard

Leave a Reply

