Miscellaneous

What Is It About Sunday Night?

For some reason the worst night for me to sleep is Sunday night. This is evidenced by my starting a blog post at 2:15 in the morning.

I don’t know what it is about Sunday nights. I don’t typically eat late at night, nor do I drink coffee later in the day, except on very rare occasion. I don’t have any particular trauma or angst around Mondays. I don’t lie awake all night worrying about something I must accomplish on Monday.

Incidentally, there is a specific phobia that is a ‘fear of Monday’ – it’s called lunaediesophobia.

It’s a real thing.

This would also make an interesting drag name. Luna Edeisophobia.

But I don’t suffer from that.

And I don’t do drag. I just make up names.

Moving along.

So, instead of tossing and turning in bed, I’m up and I’m reading up on insomnia, trying to learn more about it, and thought I’d share.

Some of the leading causes of insomnia are:

  • Depression (I don’t suffer from it, fortunately)
  • Anxiety (Something else I don’t have an ongoing issue with)
  • Stress (Welllllll….okay, you got me there….but stress isn’t a once a week thing, at least not for me)
  • Medical conditions such as arthritis, cancer, lung disease, overactive thyroid (nope, nope, nope, and nope)
  • Using back-lit electronic devices at night before bed (I read books, not eReaders, and don’t watch t.v. every night, so except for writing this post from a desktop computer….nope…not an issue.)

Some say that it’s an ‘internal clock’ issue – the body wishing a different sleep pattern like going to bed later at night and sleeping later in the morning. Again, not a ‘once a week’ kind of thing.

Some say it’s following a different sleep schedule on weekends. Stay up later and sleep later. Well, my kids make sure that sleeping in is just a fairy-tale for me. They wake me up for burning issues such as ‘I can’t find my Wii remote’ and ‘The dog farted’. This starts at roughly 6am. Even earlier than I am up during the week.

Some doctors say it can be medication related. I don’t take anything that isn’t over the counter. Scratch that off the list.

Yes, I have sleep apnea, but not just on Sundays. Another one bites the dust.

Menopause. Hmmmmmmm, NOPE!

There are, apparently, many different types of insomnia. There’s initial insomnia, where you can’t fall asleep no matter what. There’s also chronic insomnia, pregnancy insomnia, circadian rhythm insomnia, terminal insomnia, intermittent insomnia, and even something that appears to apply to me – middle insomnia.

Middle insomnia is when you fall asleep relatively easily but then wake up in the middle of the night, and can’t go back to sleep for hours.

DING DING DING….we have a winner!

But….it’s not just a once a week thing, apparently, such as I experience. It’s a multi-night event. Like a t.v. adaptation of a Stephen King book. Or Shark Week.

Back to the drawing board.

Strange facts about insomnia:

  1. It can be hereditary. DAMN IT, MOM!!!!! HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME????!!!!!
  2. Pets and bugs can suffer from it. Bug insomnia. Really? How can you even tell when a bug is sleeping? Do they snore? And what do you do for that? Get them tiny bug-sized CPAP masks? (Surprisingly this is the way my mind works all the time, not just during a bout of once a week insomnia.)
  3. In rare cases, people have died from insomnia. Great. That’s comforting to think about as I lie awake wondering why I can’t sleep.

There have been some famous people with sleep issues. Abe Lincoln, Bill Clinton, Groucho Marx, Marilyn Monroe, Judy Garland, Madonna.

And Tallulah Bankhead. She apparently hired gay men to sit and hold her hand until she fell asleep.

So….’gay’ helps with insomnia.

You’d think I could sleep, then.

But I can’t.

I call shenanigans!

Also, Alexandre Dumas had insomnia. He cured it by reading Herman Melville.

No, not really. I just have this issue with Moby Dick.

Boooooooooring.

Wait…I may be on to something…..I still have my copy of Moby Dick……

But….reading in bed is supposedly something that contributes to insomnia.

So, after an hour of research, I still don’t have an answer as to why I have trouble sleeping on Sunday nights. I know more about insomnia in general, insomnia in famous people, and insomnia in bugs.

Bugs.

And so…..I think I’ll close this post out and try to get some sleep.

Standard

Leave a Reply

