Reading

What I’m Reading Now – The Swiss Family Robinson, by Johann David Wyss

!BikZ6dw!mk~$(KGrHqEH-DcEsN1!(JZzBLPtKyOfPw~~_12

Yes, you read that right. I’m reading The Swiss Family Robinson, for the very first time.

I’m a hundred pages in, and very much enjoying it.

True, I am a big fan of stories of ‘isolation’, as I’ve blogged about before, so this tale, about a family shipwrecked on a tropic island and finding ways to survive there, is right up my alley.

I’m also a fan of classic literature, and this definitely falls into that category as well.

Most of all, I love reading books that have a film version, no matter what year it was made in and what the social mores of that time reflected in the film are – and discovering what liberties the script writer/film maker took with the original source material. Having been pleasantly surprised many times (Frankenstein being one of them, in which a creepy castle, hunch-backed assistant, and green skinned monster with bolts in his neck are not to be found at all) at how much BETTER the original material is than any version filmed no matter how closely it purports to stick to the source work.

Thus far, one hundred pages in, this is a very fun read.

Standard

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Now – The Swiss Family Robinson, by Johann David Wyss

Leave a Reply

